Nigeria joins the African Virtual University as Member State

The Federal Republic of Nigeria has signed the African Virtual University (AVU) Charter to become the 18th Member State.

The number of AVU Member States has increased from 5 in 2010 to 18 in 2013. Other countries that have signed the AVU Charter include: Kenya, Senegal, Mauritania, Cote d'Ivoire, Mali, Tanzania, Mozambique, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Benin, Ghana, Guinea, Burkina Faso, Niger, South Sudan, Sudan, Guinea Bissau, The Gambia, and Nigeria. Countries become Member States of the AVU upon signing the Charter.